If you already have an account with us, please use the login panel below to access your account.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Choosing UV filter

hi masters am newbie here and wanted to get a Uv filter. If i want to shoot outdoor portraits waht filter should i use?
    Also there are sizes, how would i know which size do i need?

I'am using a D90 with kit lens 18-105vr
    can anybody help me pls also need some inputs in choosing a filter

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Choosing UV filter

UV Filter is a must in every lens whether you shoot indoor or outdoor. It has a minimal effect actually shooting outdoor plus you can do adjustment on post processing. However, it is a must because its major purpose is to protect the lens.
    You can buy any brand you want. (I just dont recommend the CD-R King brand since they are not actually into camera accessories.)

You can see the filter thread size of your lens at the back of the lens cap. in your case, 18-105mm, i guess its 67mm filter thread size.
    Nikon D5100
    Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
    AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED
    Nikkor AF-S 50mm f1.8G

YN 465 Speedlite

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Jezrel Encarnado View Post
    hi masters am newbie here and wanted to get a Uv filter. If i want to shoot outdoor portraits waht filter should i use?
    Also there are sizes, how would i know which size do i need?

I'am using a D90 with kit lens 18-105vr
    can anybody help me pls also need some inputs in choosing a filter

There are people who would argue that you do not need a UV filter since the front element is hard enough. Basically the only purpose now for a UV filter is for added protection for the front element of the lens. Brands like B+W, Hoya, Kenko are recommended. You can check your lens for the size of the filter needed.