If you already have an account with us, please use the login panel below to access your account.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

help! point and shoot replacement for a dslr...

i have a canon 40d. had it for just over a year now. i'm thinking about selling my camera because i noticed that i haven't been using it that much. i simply do not have as much time in my hands. i'm a student pilot and all i've been doing so far are studying and flying. my only uses for my camera are for taking photos of events and at times when i get to fly to other airports. i cannot bring my 40d on all these flights because it is simply to bulky. student pilots only fly the small 2 seaters so there i can't bring big bags. i feel like the camera is just going to a waste. so i was thinking of selling it and just buying a point and shoot with manual controls like the LX3 and the like. the LX3 for example, it also produces excellent photos and i the HD video capability would also be very useful. it isn't very bulky as well so its easy to carry it around when i fly. its a very practical choice but still getting good quality photos.

so what i want to ask is, what compact point and shoot cameras would you recommend? i want to find a camera that's well built and looks more "pro" so to speak, than your typical point and shoot. not that i'm a pro or anything. i'm sure ya'll get what i mean, but still smaller than a dslr. suggestions would be very much appreciated..

Post Thanks / Like

Re: help! point and shoot replacement for a dslr...

Well there's the LX3 (like you said). If you have dough to spare, you can go for the GF1, the Pen E-PL1 or the NEX-3/5. If you really have the moolah, there's the Leica M9 or the V-Lux 20

Post Thanks / Like

I just ordered a Canon S90 for my brother last week from dbgadgets for 16k... gray unit.

I think its a very very good price and takes very nice photos also...
    Nikon D700 + MB-D10
    ZENFOLIO

Post Thanks / Like