View Full Version : Is this for real or just a SPAM?


mitchgueco
02-11-2010, 11:59 AM
I received a PM today, containing this message -

"A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.com/nickani...s;Paulo.Moraga (http://security-tool2010.com/nickaniceto;raydarwindantes;mitchgueco;carlitogonz ales;Paulo.Moraga)
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your Internet provider."

http://i49.tinypic.com/2nh3xiu.jpg

Check the image I attached. The moderator is just newly registered? Just this month? February 2010. And how come he doesn't have posts yet? Check the image. Is this true? Got an anti-virus program naman. I clicked the link in the message and then nothing appeared in the page, just codes/characters that I don't understand. *Baka yun ang virus. Oh no! Just new here in DPP, I don't know if the message is for real or it's just a spam. I already scanned my pc with my updated anti-virus program. No virus found! :Scared:

nino_carandang
02-11-2010, 12:00 PM
mitch,

that person is a spammer. delete the message and ask the admins to delete his account immediately. i normally can do it, but no longer have access to it.

nin

noelpulido
02-11-2010, 12:02 PM
I got this message, said to be coming from the forum moderator.. mods could you please confirm? I think it's a spam message, but was still able to click on the link accidentally.. anyways, here's the message and hope this would help warn other members. thanks.

Warning: DON'T CLICK ON THE LINKS BELOW!! I was trying to disable them, but not really sure how.

"Dear, petercotan;Ronnie Cacayuan;noelpulido;Dexter De Guia;JonathanGalas!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.com/petercotan;Ronnie Cacayuan;noelpulido;Dexter De Guia;JonathanGalas
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your Internet provider.
----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration www.digitalphotographer.com.ph (http://www.digitalphotographer.com.ph)."

mitchgueco
02-11-2010, 12:03 PM
mitch,

that person is a spammer. delete the message and ask the admins to delete his account immediately. i normally can do it, but no longer have access to it.

nin


Whew. Thanks so much sir! The link in the message might be the virus he's talking about! Tsk!

nino_carandang
02-11-2010, 12:05 PM
http://www.digitalphotographer.com.ph/forum/showthread.php?p=875267#post875267

Allen Xavier Permalino
02-11-2010, 12:08 PM
i received the same message! and i just clicked the link too! oh no, that just might be the virus.

noelpulido
02-11-2010, 12:13 PM
http://www.digitalphotographer.com.ph/forum/showthread.php?p=875267#post875267

thanks sir.

noelpulido
02-11-2010, 12:21 PM
How do we remove any virus infection from this spam message? I was also one of the unlucky ones receiving the message, and was also able to click on the link. I am scanning my laptop now with Norton, is it enough or do we need to do something else to make sure nothing's wrong with our systems?

Thanks guys.

ralphdabao
02-11-2010, 12:33 PM
What do you know? I thought I did a bad thing on this forum to be kicked away :D


How do we remove any virus infection from this spam message? I was also one of the unlucky ones receiving the message, and was also able to click on the link. I am scanning my laptop now with Norton, is it enough or do we need to do something else to make sure nothing's wrong with our systems?

Thanks guys.


If everything else fails, system restore to the rescue. :) Then scan again.

Allen Xavier Permalino
02-11-2010, 12:37 PM
How do we remove any virus infection from this spam message? I was also one of the unlucky ones receiving the message, and was also able to click on the link. I am scanning my laptop now with Norton, is it enough or do we need to do something else to make sure nothing's wrong with our systems?

Thanks guys.

I'm using Malwarebytes' Anti-malware right now on my laptop to check also. It usually finds infections some antivirus softwares don't.

willy_palacios
02-11-2010, 12:42 PM
I think there should be a minimum number of "significant" post before someone can send someone mail or PM say like 10~20 post?

by that time if it is a spammer it would be detected already.
i get some of these PM's & I just delete them

Allen Xavier Permalino
02-11-2010, 12:45 PM
I think there should be a minimum number of "significant" post before someone can send someone mail or PM say like 10~20 post?

by that time if it is a spammer it would be detected already.
i get some of these PM's & I just delete them


Yep, that would be a good idea, makes perfect sense. It scared the heck out of me, considering I just registered in DPP.

victorimperial
02-11-2010, 01:18 PM
Me too. I accidentally click the link.. For those who have scanned there unit, did you find anything???

randy_bautista
02-11-2010, 01:22 PM
Just got that message a few mins ago... First instinct wasto run a local virus scan, then I noticed that the "ModeratorTeam" just joined this feb, had 0 messages and was from the US... :Angry:

http://images.plurk.com/3163539_7ee6caa9fb43125b4c3a2c65a700e149.jpg

harrysio
02-11-2010, 01:52 PM
i also got this just now.
im using a mac, so i don't think this is possible...
i click the link but its a russian site

Antonio del Rosario
02-11-2010, 02:10 PM
Good Day,

I didn't know where else to put this, so i'll just post it here.

I got this private message today at 11:12 am:

Dear, Maloy Ardieta;jakeazarcon;patriciabuenaventura;Antonio del Rosario;Jay Sese!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.com/Maloy Ardieta;jakeazarcon;patriciabuenaventura;Antonio del Rosario;Jay Sese
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your Internet provider.

Not that it frightens me or anything, it isn't legit anyway. But what does bother me is that there seems to be something in the forums, i wouldn't know if it's an automated script or an imposer impersonating a moderator.

Just letting the forum (moderators) know.

Thanks.

ryan_tanganco
02-11-2010, 02:17 PM
got the same message, seems that the spammers are back again..

Lloyd San Diego
02-11-2010, 02:25 PM
spammers are now active on PM's.

alcuinpapa
02-11-2010, 02:57 PM
got the same message, this time in another photographers forum.

alex_paulino
02-11-2010, 03:10 PM
I got mine just now and didn't click on the link.

Eric Merced
02-11-2010, 03:16 PM
i got mine too and i won't dare click the link cause it might have malware.

Allen Xavier Permalino
02-11-2010, 05:02 PM
Me too. I accidentally click the link.. For those who have scanned there unit, did you find anything???

just finished scanning... good thing nothing came up.

Dex Malolos
02-11-2010, 05:15 PM
:(:Angry::Mad::Sick::Thinking::Scared::Shock: eto mga naramdaman ko! minsan na nga lang ako magopen... spammer pa! tsk tsk!

Alfred Racho
02-11-2010, 05:20 PM
I saw this, too, but immediately recognized it for what it is.

Galing ng username niya: ModeratorTeam

But I've been burned once too many to fall for this trap...

Allen Xavier Permalino
02-11-2010, 07:00 PM
hi! I got the same message too, and got concerned, considering I just registered in DPP. Didn't think spammers were also active here.

edwardgo
02-11-2010, 09:18 PM
I received the same message from another forum. Looks like its targeting forum sites under different user names. If you click the link the tool itself is a virus, just delete it.

Erick Dantoc
02-12-2010, 02:16 AM
received the same message :(

NinoPasamonte
02-12-2010, 08:58 PM
We have taken the necessary actions to prevent this method of spamming from happening again here in DPP.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and if ever there will be any site or member related announcement or private messages please be informed that it will not be official unless it comes from my account :)

mitchgueco
02-13-2010, 08:10 AM
We have taken the necessary actions to prevent this method of spamming from happening again here in DPP.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and if ever there will be any site or member related announcement or private messages please be informed that it will not be official unless it comes from my account :)


Great! Thank you sir! :Grin:

Prime Cepeda
02-16-2010, 01:23 PM
got this too.. irritating stuff